FAQ

Last change on 2021-05-04 • Created on 2020-07-02

What are snapshots and backups?

Snapshots and backups are copies of your server's disk.

You can create snapshots when you need them and keep them forever or until you decide to delete them. We at Hetzner Online will store the snapshots even if you delete the server that the snapshot was taken of. We invoice for snapshots on a per gigabyte per month basis. Please find additional information in the billing FAQ.

Backups are daily copies of your server's disk. Our system will automatically select a timeframe in which the backups will be created once the feature is activated. They are invoiced with a flat fee per server. See the billing FAQ. Backups are bound to a single server and will automatically be deleted if you delete the server. For every server, there are seven slots for backups. If all slots are full and you create an additional one, then the oldest backup will be deleted.

To access a snapshot or a backup, you will need to either:

  • Use the Cloud Console to create a new server and choose the snapshot or backup as a source image. Or
  • Rebuild an existing server using the snapshot or backup as a source image. This will overwrite the contents of the server's disk.

When creating snapshots or backups, we recommend that you power down your server to ensure data consistency on the disk. You may, however, also create them from a running system. In this situation, we will try to flush the disk caches of your operating system using Qemu Guest Agent before snapshotting. However, in this situation, we cannot guarantee data consistency.

Important note: Snapshots and backups do not include any volumes which are attached to your server.

Please use our snapshot feature if you want to precisely control when your disk gets saved.

What are projects, and how can I use them?

You can group your servers and other resources into projects. For each project, you can invite other users to join and therefore work with you on the project via Cloud Console. To invite a user, select "Security; Members; Add Member".

Add_member

You can then enter the email address of the person you want to invite and choose their role, which determines their access level in this project.

Add_member2

The invitee will get an email containing a special link. After clicking it, he can log in with his existing Hetzner Account details or create a new account. Once he has done that, he can accept the invitation and work together with you in your project.

You can always revoke access to the project or change the role of another member by going to "Security; Members" in your Cloud Console account.

Each member's role in a project determines what they are allowed to do:

Role Permissions
Owner Highest access level. Can do everything an admin can do. Can move servers to other projects. Will be invoiced for all resources in the project, regardless of who created them. Each project can only have one owner.
Admin Can do everything a member can do. Can also manage project members (add/remove/change role) and API tokens.
Member Can create, modify and delete all resources in the project, such as servers, floating IPs, images, volumes, etc.
Restricted Can create, modify and delete all resources in the project except for:
  • creating or deleting servers
  • creating snapshots
  • deleting snapshots or backups
  • converting backups into snapshots
  • switching on or off backups for a server
  • creating floating IPs
  • changing server types
  • creating or deleting volumes
  • creating or deleting networks
  • creating or deleting load balancers

How can I move a resource (server / volume / floating ip) to another account?

Moving resources to another account works by moving them to a different project which is owned by the target account.

Therefore, the target account has to invite the current owner of the resource into a project and give the current account member permissions (or a higher level of permissions). Then proceed as described under How can I move a resource (server / volume / floating ip) to another project?.

How can I move a resource (server / volume / floating ip) to another project?

Only the owner of the source project can move resources out of it. Project ownership is indicated by the little crown in the project's overview.

To move the resource, click on the three dots in the correct resource list and select "Transfer to Project". Note: The owner of the target project will have to pay for the resource from now on.

Are there limits to the number of resources I can get?

Our cloud services are designed in a way so that you can tap into additional resources easily. In order to prevent abuse, we put some limits on the number of resources a single account can create.

You can find these limits on the "Limits" tab on your overview page. If you would like us to increase the resource limits, use the "Request limit change" button on the "Limits" tab.

Table of Contents